CARROT CAKE

Español aquí. 

I  posted this recipe many years ago when I first started my original blog in Spanish, back in 2012. I have been meaning to edit it for quite some time, because the pictures were terrible and me and my new camera lenses are BFFs right now. The recipe hasn’t changed one bit since I made it for the first time 7 years ago, though. Everyone claims to have the ultimate carrot cake recipe but I find that to be a little pretentious, so I won’t do it. What I will tell you, is that this recipe works wonderfully every single time, the cake turns out moist and packed with flavour and it’s my hubby’s all time favourite (who, as you might guess, is a total expert on cakes by now).

It’s also extremely easy to make. You can use a bundt cake pan, like the one on the pictures (Nordic Ware’s Crown Bundt Pan) or just a spring form pan or a bread loaf mold. Do adjust the quantity accordingly, my pan was very big, for 10 cups or 2.5 l, so if you use an 8 inch (22 cm) spring form pan, you should use half of the recipe.

bundtcenital1

  • CARROT CAKE

Amount for a 10 cup/2.5 l pan

4 free range eggs

280 g brown sugar

360 g all purpose flour

15 g baking powder

15 g de ground cinnamon

300 ml vegetable oil (I used olive oil)

400g grated carrots

2 small apples (I use Golden Delicious variety)

120 g nuts

1.- Grease your pan using a non-stick spray (it’s what works best, in my opinion).

2.- Grate the carrots and the apples and set aside.

3.- Whisk the eggs along with the brown sugar. Tip: always use a bigger bowl than you think you’re going to need. 

4.- Sift and add have of the dry ingredients.

5.- Add the oil and whisk it together, then add the rest of the flour, also sifted.

6.- Add the grated carrots and apples and mix softly.

7.- Chop your nuts, I personally don’t like the bits to be too big, so I use a food processor, but if you like big chunks, just do it by hand. Pour the batter in you pan.  Tip for using bundt cake pans: fill it up to 2/3 or even 3/4 of the pan, but don’t overfill it. Tap the pan against your work surface once it’s filled to remove large air pockets and help it spread evenly. 

P1160991

8.- Heat your oven up to 180ºC/360F for 55 minutes (if you use an 8 inch spring form pan, it will probably bake in around 30 minutes).

9.- Take your cake out of the oven and let it rest for about 10-15 minutes. After that, tap it again just a little, to loose it from the pan and flip it over a wire rack. Let it cool completely before decorating.

  • ORANGE SCENTED CREAM CHEESE FROSTING

100 ml whiping cream

150 g cream cheese

25 g powdered sugar

1 orange zest

1.- Beat the cream along with the sugar, until it starts to thicken but isn’t still completely whipped.

2.- Add the cream cheese and whisk it all together.

3.- Add the orange zest, but don’t overbeat the batter.

4.- Put the frosting in a piping bag and decorate.

bundt2

 

Leave a comment